How to reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings

A factory reset can do you or your iPhone or iPad a whole lot of good, depending on the situation. As the name suggests, a factory reset will wipe your device and restore it to factory settings – all your photos, videos, documents and data gone permanently. Your iPhone or iPad will be restored to the state it was when you first bought it.

image

Why reset your iPhone or iPad?You may need to reset your iPhone or iPad for one of a number of reasons. Perhaps you want to sell it. It may have become sluggish and unresponsive, or perhaps you even want to send it to the service centre for repairs and do not want to leave your stuff on it.

Because a factory reset deletes all your files and information,it is recommended that you backup your iPhone or iPad before wiping it. This article walks you through the whole
process of backup and reset. The specific steps may differ a little bit from one version of iOS to another, so do not panic if one or two steps are missing on your device.

How to reset your iPhone or iPad

1. Backup your device. Using its supplied cable, connect your iPhone or iPad to your computer. When it is recognised by iTunes, click on the left-hand pane to access the Summary screen. Click “Back Up Now” and
follow through.
2. Open your device’s Settings menu and follow this path:General -> Reset.
3. Select Erase All Content and Settings. If you have a passcode on your device, you will be required to supply it at this point.
4. Enter your Apple ID password.

The above process ensures that you have a backup before you reset your iPhone or iPad. When your device reboots, it will be in its factory state. You can sell it without fear of having your personal information and files compromised. Or you can use it with a fresh and clean slate.

0 Response to "How to reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings"

Post a Comment